South East Regional Health Authority

The South East Regional Health Authority (SERHA) is a statutory body of the Ministry of Health and Wellness. SERHA is one of four Regional Health Authorities formed as a part of the Health Sector reform, by passage of the National Health Services Act in 1997. SERHA is responsible for the delivery of health care services to the residents of St. Catherine, St. Thomas, Kingston and St. Andrew. This represents 47% of the population of Jamaica.

Health Care is delivered through a network of nine hospitals and 91 Health Centres. Five of the nine hospitals within the region are also specialist or National Referral Hospitals. Some of these institutions also accept patients referred from other Caribbean islands. SERHA employs approximately 8,000 people from a variety of medical and non-medical groups.