Department of Correctional Services

The Department of Correctional Services is an arm of the Ministry of National Security with direct responsibility for the care and custody of all offenders placed in correctional facilities. The department has the task of managing and overseeing all programmes operating within these facilities. DCS’s mission is: “To contribute to the safety and protection of our society by keeping offenders secure and facilitating their rehabilitation and reintegration as law abiding citizens, while developing a professional and committed staff.”

The Department is comprised of seven (7) Adult Correctional Centres, one (1) Adult Remand Centre, four (4) Juvenile Centres, and seventeen (17) Community Service Offices (Probation Offices) located island wide all under the directorship of the Department’s chief executive officer, the Commissioner of Corrections.